Avi author writer
Poppy's Return Nothing But the Truth Crispin Cross of Lead True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle Catch You Later, Traitor Avi author writer
End of the Beginning
Harcourt, 2004
more adventure
more comedy
The End of the Beginning

Avon the snail and Edward the ant are back for another funny—and Avon the snail has never had an adventure. And adventure, he has heard, is the key to a happy life. So with his new friend Edward the ant, Avon sets out on a journey to find the excitement his life has been missing.

This modern fable is filled with funny—and profound—insights about the meaning of things … great and small.

Behind the Book

Avi writes: I had a good friend whose name was Avon. He, like myself, was a writer. Avon, however, was a very slow writer, at least compared to me.

Once, when I was visiting him at his country home, I was teasing him about the slow place of his writing. “Avon,” I said, “I’m going to write a book to show the world how slow you are.”

So it was I sat down and started to write the book that became The End of the Beginning.

It helps to know that my birth name—the name I used before I acquired the name Avi—is Edward.

Some people find this book very wise. Others find it silly. I think it’s just funny.

Awards and Honors

Through the Looking Glass, Editor's Choice. 2004
Best Adventure: Disney Adventures Sixth Annual Book Award 2005
Maine Student Book Award 2005-2006

Reviews

Through the Looking Glass:

“What is so extraordinary about this unique little book is that every time one reads it one finds something new to puzzle over or wonder at. New interpretations can be made and mulled over as one enjoys the whimsical and delightful pencil drawings created by Tricia Tusa. In the tradition of The Little Prince and Pooh, Avi has created a book which will delight, and puzzle, readers of all ages and for years to come.”

Website copyright 2003 - Avi. All rights reserved. Site designed by Winding Oak.
Materials on this website may be copied for classroom or library use but may not be reprinted or resold for commercial purposes.